The University of Iowa Libraries

An annotated bibliography of film adaptations from literature.

An annotated bibliography of film adaptations from literature.

A detailed catalog of Chinese films from 1949 through 1995.

Covers articles and journals on films.

Provides full text, index, and abstract for journals and articles on film.

An international index to journal articles on film.

This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 545,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Index to over 120,000 films from 170 countries, with biographical information for 720,000 persons in the film industry. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.

This database is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). It covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities and Arts. It includes back files dated back to 1994.

Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, and mini guides.

Asian Film Online is a collection of culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific (including a significant number of Chinese films) that entertain, educate and inspire viewers to think beyond boundaries, predominantly comprised of films never before seen outside their country of origin.

This two-volume dictionary covers world film directors from 1890-1985.

Provides biographies of contemporary practitioners in the theatre, film and television. It was previously titled Who's Who in the Theatre.

A dictionary of film studies and researches in all aspects of film theory, practice and production.

Covers all aspects of Chinese cinema.

A detailed guide to Chinese films.

Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent film makers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews.

Areas of interest range from the technical and entrepreneurial innovations of early and pre-cinema experiments, covering all aspects of the production, distribution, exhibition and reception of commerical and non-commercial motion pictures.

Covering international movies, beginning from 2002 through present.

Articles on motion pictures and film industry, including book reviews.

The China Journal provides informed and insightful commentary from China scholars around the world, in a wide range of articles and book reviews.

This international journal features articles and book reviews in all subjects about China.

A comprehensive collection of information on all aspects of film.

A detailed guide to Chinese film in all aspects.

Reviews of the best 1000 movies published in New York Times.

A guide to Chinese film theory developed in the 1980s and 1990s.

This two-volume work indexes film reviews starting from 1882.

An index to international films adapted from literature.

An index to the Academy Awards of all categories in a chronological order.

The most comprehensive internet database on movies.

This site features a very nice database which covers international movie industry, with search and browse functions.

This site provides online movie reviews.

An excellent site featuring a fine selection of film references and sources both in print and online.

Official Web Site for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

A list of internet resources on Chinese film and movies.

One of the best journals on Chinese film.

About the current developments of Chinese film in the 1980s.

Reviews of current films published in New York Times.

Covers yearly developments of Chinese film in all aspects.