The University of Iowa Libraries

A detailed bibliography on studies in the history of Chinese Cultural Revolution.

This work is a bibliographical guide to works and documents on modern Chinese history, published in Chinese.

This work deals with traditional Chinese calendar for two thousand years in contrast to Western calendar. It is a good reference work for understanding the chronology of Chinese history.

A chronology of modern China.

A chronological list of important events in the twentieth-century Chinese history.

A chronological list of important events in the twentieth-century Chinese history.

This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

This database is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). It covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities and Arts. It includes back files dated back to 1994.

Historical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. It provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 2000 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations.

This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals, including studies in Chinese history.

Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People's Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.

Access (via IP) to Electronic version of the Wenyuange edition of Siku Quanshu is available on most of the computers in the UI Main Library. UI Faculty who want to gain access (via IP) to it in their campus offices need to download and install a client program on their office computers from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download (download and installation instructions are provided on the website). The Siku Quanshu features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4,700,000 pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc.

Diaolong Full-text Database of Chinese and Japanese Ancient Books.

Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology and mini guides.

A biographical dictionary of noted persons in the People's Republic of China.

This three-volume work provides biographical information on notewd Chinese historical figures during 1918-1950.

A dictionary of Chinese history and culture.

A comprehensive dictionary of Chinese history, written in Chinese.

A dictionary about the systems of ancient Chinese gvernments and laws, in Chinese.

A collection of well-known events and stories in Chinese history, written in Chinese.

A geographical dictionary defining and mapping places historically significant in Chinese history.

Features studies in Chinese history.

Features studies in Chinese history.

The most comprehensive work on Chinese history written in Chinese.

A research and bibliographical guide to studies in the history of the Ming Dynasty.

A guide to historiography and sources in the studies of the history of imperial China.

An illustrated guide to Chinese history.

A guide to the origination and early developments of Chinese civilization and history.

A comprehensive guide to 20th century Chinese history with bibliographical references.

A handbook of Chinese history, including bibliographical references.

A history of Chinese historiography.

Introdiction to important Chinese ancient historical works.

A study of perspectives on the 19th and 20th century Chinese history.

A list of internet resources on Chinese history.

A comprehensive annotated list of sources on Chinese classical historiography.

An extensive bibiliographic list of books on Chinese history in different dynasties.

A journal about sources and ducuments on Chinese history.

Features studies in history education.

Features studies in historiography.

Features studies and book reviews in Chinese history.

Features studies in early modern Chinese history.

Sources in early modern Chinese history.

Features studies in Chinese history.

Features studies in modern Chinese history.

Features studies in early modern Chinese history.

Features studies in modern Chinese history.

Features studies in Chinese history.

Features studies in Chinese history.

A comprehensive reference work on Chinese history, which includes bibliographical references and indexes.