The University of Iowa Libraries

A bibliography of studies and translations of modern Chinese literature

This is an annotated bibliography of commentary, criticism, and plays in English translation

A companion to traditional Chinese literature, including bibliographical references and indexes

Covers articles and journals on comparative literature, but not comprehensive.

This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 545,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics published from 1963 to the present. It covers Chinese language, literature, and comparative literature. It is perhaps the most comprehensive database on the subject.

With full text for well over 200 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers, among others, the fields of language, literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, and cultural studies.

Access (via IP) to Electronic version of the Wenyuange edition of Siku Quanshu is available on most of the computers in the UI Main Library. UI Faculty who want to gain access (via IP) to it in their campus offices need to download and install a client program on their office computers from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download/ (download and installation instructions are provided on the website). The Siku Quanshu features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4,700,000 pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc.

Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.

This database is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). It covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities and Arts. It includes back files dated back to 1994.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, and mini guides.

This journal includes essays of eminent critics, scholars, theorists, and literary historians. It covers traditions and literary relations between East Asia and the West.

This online journal covers comparative literature studies, including essays in comparative studies of Chinese litertaure.

Includes bibliographies and indexes on modern Chinese literature.

This is a bibliography guide to Chinese poetry and drama

This online journal covers comparative literature and culture.

This online list covers bibliographies that comprise published (both print and electronic) materials related to modern Chinese literature. They include (1) translations (mostly in English) organized by author and by thematic collections; (2) general studies (organized by period, theme, and genre); (3) studies of particular authors; (4) important reference works; (5) MCLC biographies of modern Chinese authors; (6) Lu Xun studies; and (7) links to works of Chinese literature in Chinese

A list of internet resources on Chinese literature

An official journal of the American Comparative Literature Association, it covers Chinese and Comparative Literature studies.

Published by the Canadian Comparative Literature Association, it also covers Chinese and Comparative Literature studies.

This journal also covers comparative studies of Chinese drama

An annotated guide to reference materials.

Published in collaboration with the Comparative Literature Committee of the National Council of Teachers of English and the Comparative Literature Section of the Modern Language Association, this yearbook includes comparative studies of Chinese literature.