The University of Iowa Libraries

Include bibliographical information about publications on Chinese politics.

An important reference source about Chinese provincial and local government and politics. Coverage: 1949-1976.

A detailed bibliography on studies in the history of Chinese Cultural Revolution.

Biographies of historical figures in the Chinese Communist Party.

A chronology of historical events of the Chinese Communist Party, 1919-1990.

A chronology of events and changes in Chinese political systems, 1949-1978.

Comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, which include the following databases: (1) Monthly Statistics - provides the monthly macroeconomic statistics at national, provincial and city levels from 1998 to current; (2) National Statistics - provides statistical data of China from 1949 to current; (3) Provincial Statistics -provides the statistical data of all provinces from 1949 to current; (4) City Statistics - provides yearly statistics of prefecture and county level cities from 1996; (5) County Statistics - provides the yearly county statistics from 1997; (6) Industrial Statistics - provides monthly and yearly statistics by industries from 1999.

This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals, including studies in Chinese politics.

Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, etc.

PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues.

This multi-subject database covers, among many other fields, political science.

This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science.

This full-text database covers journal articles published in China on Chinese politics and government.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, and mini guides.

Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.

Access (via IP) to Electronic version of the Wenyuange edition of Siku Quanshu is available on most of the computers in the UI Main Library. UI Faculty who want to gain access (via IP) to it in their campus offices need to download and install a client program on their office computers from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download/ (download and installation instructions are provided on the website). The Siku Quanshu features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4,700,000 pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc.

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.

A biographical dictionary of modern Chinese political leaders.

Cover all aspects of the politics of the PRC.

Somewhat dated, but still useful. Coverage runs till the 1970s.

Dated but still useful as it is bilingual.

A dictionary of political events in contemporary China.

A dictionary of Chinese political systems and official titles from early Chinese history to the Republic period.

A dictionary of the history of the political systems of the Chinese Nationalist Party.

A dictionary of the history of the Chinese Communist Party.

A dictionary of the leaders of the Chinese Communist Party.

Features studies in Chinese politics.

Features studies in Chinese politics.

Guide to sources on the meetings of the Chinese communist party and government.

A list of internet resources on Asian politics, including Chinese politics.

"中国选举与治理"是一个从选举和治理的角度探索和研究中国政治制度和政治体制改革的中英文网站，由地方政府与地方治理研究中心与卡特中心中国选举项目合办。

Covers politics in contemporary China.

Features studies in modern Chinese politics.

Valuable for the documents included.

A visual documentation of Chinese history and politics.

A history of the debate on human rights in China, 1898-1949.

In 4 volumes. Coverage: 1969-1982, including bibliographies and index.

Include documents covering the period from 1949 to 1979.

A series of sources and documents from the Chinese communist party.

Sources for the organization of the Chinese Communist Party.

A yearly publication about factual and statistical information on China, including Chinese politics.