The University of Iowa Libraries

A comprehensive and classified bibliography of publications in English, French, and German through 1970.

A comprehensive and classified bibliography of publications in English, French, and German through 1980.

A supplementary volume to Chinese religion in Western languages.

A supplement to Chinese religions: publications in Western languages, 1981 through 1990, 1993.

A critical analysis and annotated bibliography of works on religion in postwar China.

This is the first volume in English to provide a comprehensive introduction to the philosophical thinking of representative Neo-Confucian thinkers from the eleventh to eighteenth centuries.

This volume presents both a historical and a systematic examination of the philosophy of classical Confucianism. Taking into account newly unearthed materials and the most recent scholarship, it features contributions by experts in the field, ranging from senior scholars to outstanding early career scholars.

Covers articles and journals on Chinese religions.

This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 545,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Contains the complete contents of Religion Index One (journal literature in religion from 1949-present), Religion Index Two (multi-author works, such as festschriften, conference proceedings, and other volumes of collected articles and essays, 1960-present), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. Included are article citations from some 650 journals and essay citations from over 14,000 multi-author works as well as book review citations. Over one million bibliographic records in 26 languages.

It features the searchable version of the latest edition of published Oxford dictionary of Buddhism.

This database is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). It covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities (including Chinese religions) and Arts. It includes back files dated back to 1994.

Diaolong Full-text Database of Chinese and Japanese Ancient Books.

Access (via IP) to Electronic version of the Wenyuange edition of Siku Quanshu is available on most of the computers in the UI Main Library. UI Faculty who want to gain access (via IP) to it in their campus offices need to download and install a client program on their office computers from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download (download and installation instructions are provided on the website). The Siku Quanshu features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4,700,000 pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc.

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, and mini guides.

Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.

Covering all aspects of world religions, including Chinese religions.

A comprehensive reference work covering philosophical and religious thought in the East and the West.

An illustrated guide to world religions.

Entries of Chinese Buddhist terms with Sanskrit and English equivalents and a Sanskrit-Pali index. Old but still useful.

A comprehensive dictionary of religions and myths of all Chinese nationalities. Including indexes.

A dictionary of religions.

A dictionary of Buddhism in 7 volumes.

A dictionary of Buddhist studies.

A practical dictionary of Buddhist studies.

Also covers Chinese religions.

Also covers Chinese religions.

Also covers Chinese religions.

This international journal features articles and book reviews in all subjects about China.

The China Journal provides informed and insightful commentary from China scholars around the world, in a wide range of articles and book reviews.

A comprehensive reference work on Buddhism in six volumes.

The most comprehensive work on religion in 16 volumes, featuring scholarly essays covering religions of all nations and all areas of religious studies.

A reference guide to Chinese religion.

This site is a searchable collection of Internet resources in the fields of Buddhism and Buddhist studies.

This online collection provides electronic texts of Buddhist Sutra.

Directory of Online Resources for the Study of Religion in China.

A searchable full text database featuring nearly 30,000 entries (as of 06/2003).

This is the official website for International Confucian Association.

Features academic researches on all aspects of Chinese religions.

An official publication of Association of Chinese Philosophers in America, it features studies in Chinese philosophy and religion from a comparative perspective.

A journal of Buddhism and Buddhist culture.

A journal of religious study.

A complete history of Chinese religion.

A study of Chinese popular religions and religious sects.

A history of Chinese folk religions.

Globalization and the Making of Religious Modernity in China investigates the transformation of China's religious landscape under the impact of global influences through case studies covering the period from 1800 to the present.

Covers studies in Chinese religions published in Western languages.

A concise alphabetic guide to the main concepts, figures, topics and important movements of thought that have shaped Chinese philosophy over the last three thousand years.