Research Guide - Chinese Collection - The University of Iowa Libraries
Academic Search Elite [Database UI Access Only]
Ebsco
http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ebsco/academic Connect
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals, including studies in Chinese politics. |
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) [Database UI Access Only]
The Association for Asian Studies
http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/bas Connect
This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. |
China Academic Journals (CAJ): Politics 中国学术期刊数据库 [Database UI Access Only]
China National Knowledge Infrastructure via East View
http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/caj Connect
This full-text database covers journal articles published in China on Chinese politics and government. |
China Data Online [Database UI Access Only]
All China Marketing Research
http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/go.php?c=11753947 Connect
Comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, which include the following databases: (1) Monthly Statistics - provides the monthly macroeconomic statistics at national, provincial and city levels from 1998 to current; (2) National Statistics - provides statistical data of China from 1949 to current; (3) Provincial Statistics -provides the statistical data of all provinces from 1949 to current; (4) City Statistics - provides yearly statistics of prefecture and county level cities from 1996; (5) County Statistics - provides the yearly county statistics from 1997; (6) Industrial Statistics - provides monthly and yearly statistics by industries from 1999. |
China: Culture and Society [Database UI Access Only]
Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library
http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/go.php?c=4685230 Connect
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, and mini guides. |
Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database (1911-1949) 中国近代期刊全文数据库 [Database UI Access Only]
Shanghai Library
http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/go.php?c=4685154 Connect
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value. |
JSTOR (Journal Storage) [Database UI Access Only]
JSTOR
http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/jstor/jstor Connect
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, etc. |
PAIS International [Database UI Access Only]
Silverplatter
http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/pais Connect
PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. |
Project Muse [Database UI Access Only]
Project Muse
http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/muse Connect
This multi-subject database covers, among many other fields, political science. |
Shen Bao digital archive, 1872-1949 申报全文数据库 [Database UI Access Only]
Shanghai Library
http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ShenBaoDA Connect
Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China. |
Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange Edition) 文淵閣四庫全書 [Database UI Access Only]
Digital Heritage Publishing Limited
http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download Connect
Access (via IP) to Electronic version of the Wenyuange edition of Siku Quanshu is available on most of the computers in the UI Main Library. UI Faculty who want to gain access (via IP) to it in their campus offices need to download and install a client program on their office computers from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download/ (download and installation instructions are provided on the website). The Siku Quanshu features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4,700,000 pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc. |
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Database UI Access Only]
CSA
http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/go.php?c=4685017 Connect
This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science. |
|
|
